All The Big Bash League Squads And Signings For The 2020-21 Season

Big Bash League

The History of Big Bash League

Big Bash League is a Twenty20 cricket league established by Cricket Australia. The Big Bash League replaced the previous KFC Twenty20 Big Bash League. Big Bash League has eight city-based franchises, unlike its predecessor. KFC has been sponsoring BBL right from the first season. BBL has built a position in the top ten domestic sports leagues with international attendance.

Big Bash League is a southern hemisphere summer competition played during December, January, and February. This year BBL will start the tenth season on 10th December 2020 with the Sydney Sixers playing against Hobart Hurricanes in Hobart. Each city-based franchise can have 19 contracted players for a season. Each squad can have two rookie players and at most six overseas players in a season. However, only three international players can be a part of a match.

Big Bash League 2021

The Eight BBL Franchise

Six out of the eight teams have won at least one season. Hobart Hurricanes and Melbourne Stars have not won even a single season since 2011. Perth Scorchers have been the most successful to date and have won three seasons.

BBL Teams 2021
Image Source:
FranchiseColourSeasons Won
Adelaide StrikersBlue2017-18
Brisbane HeatTeal2012-13
Hobart HurricanesPurpleNone
Melbourne RenegadesRed2018-19
Melbourne StarsDark greenNone
Perth ScorchersOrange2016-17 2014-15 2013-14
Sydney SixersMagenta2019-2020 2011-12
Sydney ThunderLime green2015-16

What’s New in BBL 2020-21?

Big Bash League BBL 2020-21 comes with a new set of additional rules. Due to the current Covid-19 situation and prolonged exposure to bio bubble in International matches, many players have avoided the BBL this year. With the lack of international and home stars, the BBL seems to have lost all its interests. Cricket Australia has launched these three innovative rules hoping to garner more attention.

New Rules 

X factor

The captain can substitute a batsman or bowler with the 12th or 13th player mentioned in the team sheet. The replaced batsman should not have batted till then and, the bowler should not have bowled for more than an over. The captain can introduce the X factor player only after the 10th over of the first innings. A lot of players have criticized this rule stating how is it possible that a 12th and 13th position player can be better than those chosen for the top ten positions.

Power Surge

Unlike the earlier six overs Powerplay, the 2020-21 Big Bash League will have only four overs Powerplay at the start. An additional two power plays can be taken by the batting team from the 11th over. During the two over powerplay, only two fielders can be present outside the inner ring.

Bash Boost

Irrespective of the match outcome, the team that has the higher score at the tenth over receives an extra point. 

Squads for BBL 2020-21

BBL Squads 2021
Image Source:

Players like David Warner, Tom Banton, Steve Smith, Tom Curran have denied playing at Big Bash League this year. One of the main reasons for that is the prolonged exposure to the bio bubble during the IPL and the ongoing India Australia tour. Unlike IPL, Big Bash League does not have an individual schedule and interferes with the dates of international cricket tournaments.

Aaron Finch, who is Australia’s ODI captain will be leading Melbourne Renegades. Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, James Pattinson, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine, and a few more will join the Big Bash League after India –Australia Test Series ends in January 2021. Chris Lynn, the Australian right-handed batsman will make a comeback to Big Bash League this year. Each team can have three overseas players for a match instead of the earlier two overseas player rules. The initial 16 player squad has changed to nineteen this season.

FranchiseHead Coach for 2020-212020-21 Season CaptainOverseas Players for 2020-21
Adelaide StrikersJason GillespieTravis Head Danny Briggs Rashid Khan Phil Salt  
Brisbane HeatDarren LehmannChris LynnLewis Gregory Dan Lawrence Mujeeb Ur Rahman  
Hobart HurricanesAdam GriffithMatthew WadeSandeep LamichhaneDawid Malan Keemo Paul Colin Ingram  Will Jacks  
Melbourne RenegadesMichael KlingerAaron Finch Noor Ahmad Mohammad Nabi Rilee Rossouw Imran Tahir
Melbourne StarsDavid HusseyGlenn MaxwellAndre Fletcher Zahir Khan Nicholas Pooran
Perth ScorchersAdam VogesMitchell MarshJoe Clarke Liam Livingstone Colin Munro Jason Roy
Sydney SixersGreg ShipperdMoises HenriquesCarlos Brathwaite Tom Curran James Vince
Sydney ThunderShane BondCallum FergusonSam Billings  Alex Hales Adam Milne

Schedule for BBL 2020-21

In Big Bash League, each team has to play two matches against every other team. The five final series matches will take place after these fifty-six matches. Each team will have their home fans to cheer depending on the current Covid-19 situation in that location. Every winning team will be granted three points. Irrespective of a team’s winning status, an extra point is awarded according to the Bash Boost rule. These points are tallied for the top five teams to play the final series.  In the final series, the fourth and fifth position teams will play in the Eliminator.

The winner of the Eliminator will face the third position team in the Knockout match. The first and second position teams will play in the Qualifier match. The winner of the knockout will play against the loser of the Qualifier to reach the top two teams. Big Bash League 2020-21 will have sixty-one matches that include the fifty-six matches and the five final series matches. The final BBL match of this season is scheduled for 6th February 2021.

BBL 2020-2021
Image Source:

BBL Match Venues

Owing to the current Covid-19 situations, eleven venues are chosen for the BBL 2020-21. This year, the BBL does not have a home and away from the ground format.

  1. Blundstone Arena in Hobart will host eight games between December 10th and January 4th.
  2. Utas Stadium in Launceston will host two games on December 15th and 16th.
  3. Manuka Oval in Canberra will host six games from December 11th to 29th.
  4. The Gabba in Brisbane will host five games from December 23 – January 4
  5. Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast will host six games from December 26 – January 10
  6. Adelaide Oval will host five games from December 28 – January 11
  7. Optus Stadium in Perth will host five games from January 3-12.
  8. Sydney Showground Stadium will host four games from January 13-25.
  9. SCG in Sydney will host four games from January 16-26
  10. Marvel Stadium, Melbourne will host five games from January 14-23: five games
  11. MCG in Melbourne will host six games from January 15-26: six games

All the overseas players in BBL must have completed a two weeks quarantine period on arriving in Australia. These two weeks will be a training and quarantine period. The players will have some restrictions on sharing food and other privileges during these fourteen days. The New South Wales and Queensland Government has no restrictions for crowds at the BBL matches. There will be a full house stadium for most matches under these jurisdictions. The other locations have evolving rules according to the COVID-19 conditions. Spectators can book their tickets at

Many international star players have opted out of the BBL due to the bio bubble frustration. With many international players sitting out for the tenth season, the domestic players have better chances to show their talent. international players sitting out for the tenth season, the domestic players have better chances to show their talent.
Image Source :

Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma? Who is a Better Captain?