Chennai Super Kings won their qualifier match (CSK vs GT) against Gujarat Titans by 15 runs. This IPL match was held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium of Chepauk, Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings lost the toss and was asked to bat by the Gujarat Titans. They put up a target of 172 runs in the total of 20 overs. CSK had a smooth beginning initially with the opening pair standing on a 87 run partnership. Gujarat Titans failed to chase the target and collapsed for 157 runs at the loss of nine wickets.


Ruturaj Gaikwad was the first one to get dismissed and scored 60 of 44 balls. He was caught by Miller and that too on Mohit’s bowling. Shivam Dube was dismissed at low score of three runs. He was bowled out by player Noor Ahmed.

Moving at a fast rate, CSK slowed down as they were at just 99 runs at the end of 13 overs. Rahane and Conway both were struggling for big shots at this moment. Conway was dismissed by Mohammad Shami. He made 40 runs in 34 balls. Rahane and Rayudu together tried to hold the innings before both of them were dismissed. Dhoni’s dismissal at just 1 run as his personal score was the only moment which made the stadium silent.

Ravindra Jadeja scored 22 runs in 15 runs towards the end which made team’s total to 172 runs.

While chasing the target Gujarat Titans were at 100 for the loss of six big wickets. Moreover this 100 was also because of Shubman Gill’s bat but his inning was not as successful as people expected. He made 42 runs in the 38 balls given to him. His opening partner Saha made just 12 runs off 11 balls whereas Hardik Pandya scored just eight runs in seven balls.

Gaikwad’s big contribution for CSK’s 172/7

CSK’s opener batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad top-scored in the team with 60 runs in 44 balls. For Gujarat, pacers like Mohammad Shami and Mohit Sharma again played well by claiming two wickets each in the match.

Gaikwad and Devon Conway stood on a 87 run partnership for the opening wicket.  Gaikwad enjoyed some early in the match when he was caught off by Darshan Nalkande at a no-ball in the second over. The batter got a  free-hit and smashed a 6 and also smashed the next ball for a four.

Gaikwad brought scored an impressive half century, smashing Mohit for a boundary behind point. His brilliant knock ended when he was dismissed by Gujarat Titan bowler. The bowling side also fought back in the match after breaking the strong opening stand. Noor Ahmad dismissed Shivam Dube at just a 1. Ajinkya Rahane was also caught at a 17 run score by Nalkande.

Conway, who struggled with the ball, was the next to be dismissed as he was miscued by the one from Shami at the midwicket. Ambati Rayudu made 17 runs in 9 balls but he too was perished at a top-edging slog-sweep from Rashid Khan.


Player of the Match in CSK vs GT IPL 2023 match:

Ruturaj Gaikwad played a well and laid the foundation for Chennai’s target. Ravindra Jadeja followed up with his brilliant bowling efforts in the match. Deepak Chahar and Maheesh Theekshana also made their crucial contributions.

For Gujarat Titans, pacers Shami and Mohit were the top pick amongst the bowlers. Shubman Gill also top-scored in the chase with a score of 42 runs.

At last Ruturaj Gaikwad was given the Player of the Match for his half-century against Gujarat Titans.

Jio Cinema made a new world record 

Jio Cinema had a 2.5 crore concurrent viewer watching during the Qualifier 1 of IPL 2023 (CSK vs GT). This IPL live streaming platform broke its own record for the 3rd time this IPL. It also equalled the World Record recorded during India vs New Zealand Semi-Final of the ICC World Cup 2019. Previously on April 17, 2.4 crores viewers came together to watch MS Dhoni’s CSK defend against Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. This record was set after shattering the record that was set on April 12th of a 2.2 Crore viewing. It was again when Dhoni gave his glimpse to the public with a way he used to in his old days in a match against Rajasthan Royals.

Chennai Super Kings Playing XI for CSK vs GT:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper),  Matheesha Pathirana, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana and Tushar Deshpande.

Impact players of Chennai Super Kings: Matheesha Pathirana, Shaik Rasheed, Subhranshu Senapati, Akash Singh and Mitchell Santner

Gujarat Titans Playing XI for CSK vs GT:

Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya (captain), Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma and Noor Ahmad.

Impact players of Gujarat Titans: Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Sai Sudharsan, KS Bharat and Shivam Mavi

ALSO READ: https://criccrunch.com/pbks-vs-rr/