Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway played a key role in CSK’s fourth victory in CSK vs SRH match. Jadeja picked up 3 wickets for conceding 22 runs to restrict SRH to 134 runs for 7 wickets. This was before Conway and Gaikwad added a 87 run partnership for the opening wicket. This helped Chennai Super Kings chase down a decent target at its home Chidambaram Stadium on Friday.

Chennai Super Kings finished on 9th spot in IPL 2022 and now tied on 8 points with teams Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants. Chennai is third in the points table only because RR and LSG have better net run rates. 

Here’s take a look at Chennai based franchise’s brilliant performances in CSK vs SRH:


He knows the conditions of the match just like the back of his hand. He has always made it sure that he exploits all that the pitch offers him. Yesterday, he bowled a brilliant four-over spell. This helped in restricting the flow of runs and taking three key wickets to minimize the target to 134-7.

With four wins in a count of six matches under their belt, CSK can now breathe easy. Chennai based franchise will now start planning for an onslaught in the top-two spots of the points table. Whereas SRH with only two wins in their hand, have a lot more to think about. On Friday evening, Jadeja dismissed the only two stable Sunrisers’ batters who looked at the crease, Abhishek Sharma (34 runs) and Rahul Tripathi (21 runs). Bowling with such deliveries that gripped the surface and also induced top edges helped out Chennai. Jadeja then had Mayank Agarwal stumped after almost missing him four balls straight. 



Ruturaj Gaikwad is Chennai’s biggest finding since 2020 and on Friday he proved why he is so highly rated. His consistency at this level too is impressive. He was ready to play second fiddle to his co-opener Devon Conway who was more aggressive than him in the chase.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway make one of the most stable opening partnership in the IPL. There was no risk for CSK as the Super Kings reached 86 runs for even no loss after 10 overs. Conway brought up his half century with a boundary off Mayank Markande’s ball.

This was Devon Conway’s third consecutive half-century in IPL 2023. Before this match, he had hit 83 runs in a thrilling against Royal Challengers Bangalore and 50 runs against Rajasthan Royals. It has been a roller coaster season till now for the left-handed CSK opener. He started off the tournament by scoring just 1 against Gujarat Titans and getting a duck against Mumbai Indians. In mid, there was a score of 47 runs against Lucknow Super Giants.

At the other end, there is Ruturaj Gaikwad who was all class and grace this season. He also played his part in a strong partnership as CSK sought to improve their net run-rate in a the battle. Gaikwad was unfortunately run out in the match when Conway’s straight drive touched Umran Malik’s fingers enrouting the stumps. But the 87-run partnership resulted the fourth victory of the season for the four-time IPL champions.

Earlier, expecting dew in the second half of the match, MS Dhoni opted to bowl first after winning the toss. He believed bowling will be tough in the second inning of the match. In an unexpected move, 22-year-old Abhishek Sharma came out to open the batting with Harry Brook. Agarwal was given No. 6 in the batting list. The CSK bowlers kept a tight leash on the SRH’s openers because of the slow nature of the wicket that came to the fore straight away.

Playing 11 of Chennai Super Kings in CSK vs SRH:

RD Gaikwad, MS Dhoni (Captain), Devon Conway, AT Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, RA Jadeja, MM Ali, S Dubey, Tushar Deshpande, Matheesha Pathirana and M Theekshana

BENCH: Ben Stokes, Mitchell Santner, DL Chahar, RS Hangargekar, SP Senapati, Simarjeet Singh, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, SSB Magala, Dwaine Pretorius, Mukesh Choudhary, Bhagath Varma, AJ Mandal, Prashant Solanki and Akash Singh

CSK Impact Substitute Players: Ambati Rayudu, Shaikh Rasheed, Dwaine Pretorius, S Senapati and R Hangargekar

Playing 11 of Sunrisers Hyderabad in CSK vs SRH:

Mayank Agarwal, RA Tripathi, HC Brook, AK Markram (Captain), Abhishek Sharma, Washington Sundar, M Jansen, Umran Malik, H Klaasen (wicketkeeper), B Kumar and M Markande

BENCH: Glenn Phillips, AU Rashid, T Natarajan, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Samad, UD Yadav, Vivrant Sharma, MJ Dagar, K Nitish Kumar Reddy, SB Vyas, Anmolpreet Singh, Sanvir Singh, AJ Hosein and Kartik Tyagi

SRH Impact Substitute Players: T Natarajan, Glenn Phillips, Vivrant Sharma, Mayank Dagar and Sanvir Singh

ALSO READ: https://criccrunch.com/srh-vs-kkr-sunrisers-won-by-23-runs/