DC vs MI: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 8 wickets

DC vs MI

Delhi Capitals (DC) and the Mumbai Indians (MI) battled on March 9 in WPL 2023. The match (DC vs MI) was a battle between the two undefeated teams of the tournament.

The cricket universe expected a close and tough encounter between DC and MI, but the Mumbai-based franchise went through a comfortable eight-wicket win at the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy, Navi Mumbai. Both Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians had a dynamic start in the tournament, WPL 2023. Earlier, Mumbai Indians showcased their dominance in the opening game against Gujarat Giants. MI continued their winning spirit with another victory against Royal Challengers Bangalore( RCB). Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals also registered dynamic wins in both of their games against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and UP Warriorz.

Delhi Capitals skipper and captain Meg Lanning won the toss and opted to bat first in DC vs MI match. This decision did not work in her team’s favor. MI bowled DC all out for just 105 runs. Captain Meg Lanning fought like a lone warrior for Delhi Capitals. She scored 43 runs off 41 balls. None of the other batters of team DC could even touch the 30-run mark in the match.

Issy Wong, Saika Ishaque and Hayley Matthews took three wickets each for their team Mumbai Indians. Wong emerged as the top pick of the bowlers. She scored figures of 3/10 in four overs.

Chasing a low total of 106 runs for the victory, the team Mumbai Indians won the match without any strong effort. Yastika Bhatia, top-scored in the match for the franchise with a 32-ball 41 runs. Hayley Matthews supported Yastika by scoring 32 runs, while Nat Sciver-Brunt and Harmanpreet Kaur also completed their formalities with their unbeaten partnership of 31 runs in the match.

DC vs MI



TOSS: won by Meg Lanning led DC; they opted to bat first

First innings: DC was all out at  105 runs at 18 overs

Second innings: MI scored 109/2 at the end of 15 overs

Player of the match: Saika Ishaque was given this title for her three-wicket haul

It was a memorable match for Mumbai Indians and their fans too. Multiple number of records were shattered in the match between DC and MI. Following is a list of some of the records broken during he match:

1. Delhi Capitals shattered Royal Challengers Bangalore’s record in WPL 2023

The Delhi Capitals women’s team had an unforgettable evening against the Mumbai Indians women’s team. The DC  team managed to score only 105 runs in the first innings. This led to setting up of a new record for the lowest first-innings total by any team in WPL 2023.

Royal Challengers Bangalore previously had this record for a total of 155 runs against the team Mumbai Indians. The record for the lowest total across the two match innings belongs to the Gujarat Giants. They scored only 64 runs in their season opening match against MI.

2. Issy Wong shattered Saika Ishaque’s record in the tournament WPL 2023

Issy Wong bowled a grasping spell of 3/10 against the team Delhi Capitals on Thursday. All the DC batters struggled to score runs against the right-arm bowler Issy Wong. Her economy rate in the match was about 2.5 runs per over. Overall, Wong’s economy rate in the WPL is 3.88. But she broke Saika Ishaque’s record for the lowest economy rate in WPL 2023 matches.

Ishaque now has a rate of around 4.91. She returned with the figures of 3/13 in her three-over dynamic spell in this match against the Delhi Capitals.

3. Mumbai Indians set a new record in the DC vs MI match

Mumbai Indians have now set a new record for the highest number of wins by any team in this tournament. This Mumbai-based franchise became the first team ever to record three wins in the tournament after defeating the Delhi Capitals.

DC is the next team in the list with two wins from three matches. UP Warriorz and Gujarat Giants have both won one match each. Royal Challengers Bangalore is at the last with three losses from all its three matches.


Delhi Capitals:

Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Marizanne Kapp, Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, Tara Norris, Laura Harris, Jasia Akhtar, Aparna Mondal, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Titas Sadhu and Sneha Deepthi

Mumbai Indians:

Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Dhara Gujjar, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque, Priyanka Bala, Neelam Bisht, Sonam Yadav, Heather Graham and Chloe Tryon


Delhi Capitals XI: 

Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Radha Yadav, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Minnu Mani, Shikha Pandey and Tara Norris

Mumbai Indians XI:

Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Yastika Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita and Saika Ishaque

Now the next match between Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians will be held on 20th March.

ALSO READ: https://criccrunch.com/rcb-vs-dc-delhi-capitals-won-by-60-runs/

SOURCES: http://www.cricbuzz.com