Different Forms of cricket 2021

forms of cricket

What is the most popular form of cricket?

T20 cricket is the most popular format with 92% interest in ODIs is a close second with 88%interest.

How many sets are there in cricket?

There are no sets in Cricket instead,  a cricket match is played between two teams—each comprising 11 members—who take turns to bat and bowl on an oval pitch.

What are the 10 basic rules of cricket?

  • Two teams, 22 players.
  • Umpires’ rulings are final.
  • Six balls equal one over.
  • Game duration is negotiated.
  • Professional-level cricket matches are limited duration games.
  • Batsmen do not have to run.
  • Boundary fence hit equals four runs
  • Overthrows allow for additional runs.
  • Time wasting is penalized.
  • Field placement is optional.

Who is the father of cricket?

William Gilbert Grace – an English amateur cricketer who was important in the development of cricket is called Father of the Cricket.

Forms of cricket
Image Source: My Khel 

Different Forms of Cricket

Cricket the Gentleman’s game is the most celebrated sport in India and World. Cricket has become a culture, especially in India, you can easily spot a small kid to a grownup – whenever they get a chance they play cricket. 

Be it a professional ground or some colony’s ground or a normal street you can notice cricket lovers everywhere.

There are three forms of cricket played at the international level – Test matches, One-Day Internationals and Twenty20 Internationals. The matches are played under the rules and regulations approved by the ICC/International Cricket Council.

Cricket is the most popular sport in India and the Indian team has made every Indian proud now and then. The Indian National Cricket team has won the 1983 Cricket World Cup, the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, the 2011 Cricket World Cup, the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, and shared the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy with Sri Lanka. 

The 2021 ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup and 2023 Cricket World Cup will be hosted by India.

In India, the domestic competitions include the Ranji Trophy, the Duleep Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy, the Deodhar Trophy, the Irani Trophy and the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy. 

The BCCI also conducts the IPL/Indian Premier League- the biggest sports cricket league in the world.

Three main Forms of Cricket:

1) Test Cricket

Forms of cricket
Image Source: ESPN Cricinfo

Test cricket is the first in form of cricket with the longest match duration and is considered the game’s highest standard. 

The first officially recognized Test match took place between 15 and 19 March 1877 and was played between England and Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

In October 2012, the ICC changed the rules and permitted day/night Test matches. The first day/night game took place between Australia and New Zealand at the Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, on 27 November – 1 December 2015.

Test cricket is the traditional form of the game now settled in a five-day format which comprises two innings each.

The leader of the MRF Tyres ICC Test Match rankings -as on 1 April each year, gets a cash prize of $1 million, with the next three teams in the rankings also getting cash awards.

A Test Match Result is Declared in these Six  Scenarios :  

  • All four innings are complete. The team batting fourth is all out before overtaking the other team, usually before matching the other team’s score. The team that batted third is the winners by a margin equal to the difference in the aggregate runs scored by the two teams, for example, “Team A won by 95 runs”.
  • The team batting in the fourth innings overtakes the opposing team’s total runs and when the match ends, the team batting fourth is the winner by a margin equal to the number of wickets still to fall in the innings.
  • The third innings concludes with the team that batted twice still trailing the team that batted once. The match ended without playing the fourth inning. The team that batted only once is the winner by a margin equal to “an innings” plus the difference in aggregate run totals of the teams.
  • Time for the match expires without a result being reached. This usually occurs at the end of the last day of the match. The result is a draw: there is no winner, no matter how superior the position of one of the sides. Rain causing a loss of playing time is a common factor in drawn matches, although matches may be drawn even without interference from the weather.
  • The match is abandoned because the ground is declared unfit for play. This has occurred three times, resulting each time in a draw being declared: England v Australia in1975, West Indies v England in 1998, West Indies v England in 2009.
  • If a team refuses to take the field of play, the umpires may award the match to the opposing team. This has only happened once in Test cricket, in the 2006 fourth Test between England and Pakistan.

2) The One Day Internationals

Forms of cricket
Image Source: Fox Sports 

The One Day Internationals, also known as ODIs, a format that started in 1971 but gained in popularity from the 1980s. 

These are one-innings matches of 50 over are on each side. In ODI teams with experience do well. 

The ICC’s most popular event, the ICC Cricket World Cup is contested every four years.

The 50-over format has developed more in recent years with the ICC also organizing the Champions Trophy for the top eight ranked teams, the ICC Women’s World Cup every four years and the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup every two years.

3) Twenty20 Internationals

Forms of cricket
Image Source: Manorama

Twenty20 Internationals is the newest, the shortest and the fastest form of the game. 

With a format of 20 over’s both sides have brought in new audiences since its beginning in 2005

A Twenty20 International match is usually completed in three hours and with huge hitting, skillful bowling and amazing fielding. 

Lately T20 has become popular with fans all around the world. 

The ICC World Twenty20 started in 2007, and ICC Women’s World Twenty20 was hosted alongside the men’s event in 2009.

These were the three famous and fans favourite forms of cricket played around the world. 

Also Check Out:- 10 Best Cricket Team in The World