India Cricket Upcoming International Domestic Scheduled 2021

Team India Cricket Upcoming International

India tour of Australia, 2020-2021

The First India vs Australia ODI was held at Sydney Cricket Ground on 27 November 2020. Australia won by 66 runs. The second ODI held at Sydney Cricket ground on 29 November 2020 in which Australia won by 51 runs. The 3rd ODI held at Manuka Oval, Canberra on 2 December 2020. India won by  13 runs. 

Image: eT20slam

First India vs Australia T20 match of 2020 held on 4 December at Manuka Oval, Canberra. India won the match by 11 runs. The 2nd T20 held at Sydney Cricket Ground on 6 December 2020 in which India won by 6 wickets. 1st practice match between Australia A and India A held at Drummoyne Oval was a draw. The match was on 6 December 2020. The 3rd T20 International match between Australia and India was on 8 December 2020. Australia won the match that happened at the Sydney Cricket Ground by 12 runs. 

India won the test series by 2-1 and created history by winning at Gabba, the fortress.

India Vs England 2021

The first Test will be at M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on February 5. The timing of the match is 9:30 IST. The second Test will be at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on February 13 at 9:30 IST. The 3rd Test between India and England is on February 24, at Sardar Patel Stadium Ahmedabad and the 4th Test is on March 4 at the same stadium at 9:30 IST.

Image: NDTV Sports

The first and second T20I match between India and England will be on March 12 and March 14. Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmadabad will stage both the matches. The third T20I match will be held at Sardar Patel Stadium Ahmedabad on March 16 at 19:00 IST. The fourth and fifth T20 Internationals will occur on March 18 and March 20 at Sardar Patel Stadium.

The first ODI will be on March 23 at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune at 13:30 IST. The 2nd ODI is at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium Pune on 26 March at 13:30 IST. Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium Pune will host the 3rd ODI on March 28 at 13:30 IST.

August 2021

  • 1st Test – Trent Bridge, Nottingham, Wednesday 4 August, 15:30 IST.
  • 2nd Test- Lord’s London, Thursday 12 August, 15:30 IST.
  • 3rd Test- Headingly, Leeds, Wednesday 25 August, 15:30 IST

September 2021

  • 4th Test- The Oval, London, Thursday 2 September, 15:30 IST.
  • 5th Test- Old Trafford, Manchester, Friday 10 September, 15:30 IST.

India vs Sri Lanka

After the  IPL, the Indian team will leave for the tour of Sri Lanka. Team India will visit Sri Lanka for 3 ODIs series and five T20Is. It is a great chance for both teams to prepare for the T20 World Cup, Australia. The series is a part of the Future Cricket Tour Programs (FTP). FTP has been prepared by the International Cricket Council (ICC), BCCI and SLC Cricket Boards.

ICC has not announced the schedule including details like date, timing and venues. While all efforts are being made to hold the series alive, there are chances of delay/postponement or cancellation altogether due to the COVID-19 crisis in Asia and the world. 

The Asia Cup

The 2021 Asia Cup is the 15th edition of the tournament. This year, the Asia Cup matches are in T20 Internationals format. Pakistan might be hosting the tournament in UAE in September. India is the present champions at Asia Cup 2020 after defeating Bangladesh in 2018.

Image: Hindustan Times

The Asian Cricket Council called off the 2020 Asia Cup scheduled in September due to Covid 19 pandemic. The Asian Cricket Council then postponed the tournament to June 2021. PCB exchanged hosting rights for the tournament with Sri Lanka Cricket Board. SLC will now host the rescheduled Asia Cup which is expected in June 2021. The PCB will host the Asia Cup 2022.

India vs Zimbabwe

The India tour of Zimbabwe is now part of the official itinerary set by the BCCI for the 2021 season. The bilateral series is part of the ICC FTP fixtures. It is also part of the inaugural 2020–22 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. The India vs Zimbabwe series is a bilateral series and both teams will play 3 ODIs. BCCI postponed a 3-match T20 series due to the pandemic crisis. BCCI might announce the T20 series as part of India’s tour before the T20 World Cup.

 Image: Associated Press

The India-Zimbabwe bilateral series is a part of the Future Cricket Tour Programs (FTP), prepared by the International Cricket Council (ICC), BCCI and Zimbabwe Cricket Boards. India vs Zimbabwe 2021 schedule is not out yet. Both India and Zimbabwe will announce their 16-member squads before the series commencement before July.

ICC World Test Championship 2019-21

The World Test Championship is the ICC’s move to create a ‘World Cup’ for Test cricket. The nine top-ranked Test teams will play six bilateral Test series against mutually chosen opponents. Three of those six series will be at home and three will while touring. The tournament will not exactly progress in a round-robin format. Further, each series can have anywhere between two to five tests. But the points on offer from each Test series will be the same that is, 120. Each team gets points awarded for the result obtained in each test match.

India vs South Africa

India will return home after the tour of England and will host South Africa in October. It will include 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is matches.

T20 World Cup 2021

The T20 World Cup will be held on October/November 2021 with 12 teams participating in the tournament. Australia will host the World Cup 2021. It is also confirmed that we will have a T20 World Cup event in 2022 as well. The T20 World Cup 2021 upcoming matches list:

  • 1st T20- Group A on October 18, Sri Lanka vs Ireland at Simonds Stadium, Geelong.
  • 2nd T20- Group A on October 18,  Papua New Guinea vs Oman at Simonds Stadium, Geelong.
  • 3rd T20- Group B, October 19, Bangladesh vs Namibia at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.
  • 4th T20 – Group B, October 19, Netherlands Vs Scotland at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.
  • 5th T20-Group A, October 20, Sri Lanka Vs Papua New Guinea at Simonds Stadium, Geelong.
  • 7th T20- Group B, October 21,  Namibia Vs Scotland at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.
  • 8th T20 – Group B, October 21,  Bangladesh vs the Netherlands at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.
  • 9th T20- First Round Group A, October 22, Papua New Guinea vs Ireland at Simonds Stadium, Geelong.
  • 10th T20- Group A, October 22, Sri Lanka vs Oman at Simonds Stadium, Geelong.
  • 11th T20- Group B, October 22, Netherlands Vs Namibia at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.
  • 12th T20 – Group B, October 23, Bangladesh vs Scotland at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

India vs New Zealand

India will host the New Zealand tour of India in November/December 2021. It will include 3 T20Is and 2 Test matches.

India Vs South Africa

India tour of South Africa is scheduled for December 2021 which will include 3 Tests and 3 T20Is.

Domestic Matches

BCCI gave four options to the state associations to choose from. This is to conduct the 2020-21 domestic season. The four options are only Ranji Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, both Ranji Trophy and SMA T20s and both SMA T20s and Vijay Hazare Trophy (domestic 50-over tournament). BCCI has recognized December 20 – January 10 as the window for domestic T20s. 

The Ranji Trophy will be for 67 days from January 11 to March 18, and the Vijay Hazare Trophy proposal indicates between January 11 and February 7. The IPL 2021 will happen between late March and early April. The OPL mega auction is likely in January. This time, there will be an additional franchise as well. The BCCI will create six “bio-secure hubs” for quarantine purposes keeping in mind the pandemic situation.

Leave a Comment