IPL Team Owners List 2021

IPL Team Owners List

Indian Premier League (IPL) is every cricket lover’s festival. The eight teams consisting of Indian and overseas players compete with each other and win the IPL trophy and prize money. The 2020 winner was Mumbai Indians who received 20 crores. IPL takes place every year in the months of March to May.

The first IPL match was played in 2008 and in 2021 this is IPL’s 14 edition. The BCCI – Board of Control for Cricket in India founded the IPL and IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world.

List of IPL Team Owners List 2021:

1) Chennai Super Kings

Image Source: SportsKeeda

Chennai Super Kings won the IPL thrice in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is a team-based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. Founded in 2008, the Owner of Chennai Super Kings is India Cements which is a cement manufacturing company in India. 

The company is headed by Former BCCI President N. Srinivasan.

CSK was later transferred to a separate entity named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd.

2) Delhi Capitals

Image Source: The Hindu

Founded in 2008 as the Delhi Daredevils, the Delhi Capitals (New Name) now is jointly owned by the GMR Group and the JSW Group.

The GMR and JSW group shares 50-50 % of the shares of Delhi Capitals. 

The GMR Group is an Infrastructure Company headquartered in New Delhi and is a Public-Private Partnership model

The JSW Group is an Indian Multinational Conglomerate based in Mumbai. It is led by Sajjan Jindal and is part of OP Jindal Group.

3) Kolkata Knight Riders

Image Source: Rediffmail

Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL twice in 2012 and 2014.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is a franchise cricket team representing the city of Kolkata.

The Kolkata Knight Riders are owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. The franchise, which has gained immense popularity due to its association with celebrity owners.

The Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan and his wife Gauri Khan’s company Red Chillies Entertainment share a 55% share of Kolkata Knight Riders.

The Actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta of Mehta Group of Companies is a conglomerate based in Mumbai that shares 45% of Kolkata Knight Riders shares.

4) Mumbai Indians

Image Source: The Times of India

The Mumbai Indians won the most IPL seasons in the following years 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

The Mumbai Indians are based in Mumbai, Maharashtra and were founded in 2008.

The Mumbai Indians is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its 100% subsidiary India Win Sports. Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the IPL.

The Mumbai Indians is owned by Mukesh Ambani and his wife Neeta Ambani under the banner Reliance Industries Limited. 

5) Punjab Kings

Image Source: Catch News

The Punjab Kings is a franchise cricket team based in Mohali, Punjab which was established in 2008 as the Kings XI Punjab but now its name is changed to Punjab Kings.

The Punjab Kings jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul under the banner KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited.

Mohit Bumrah holds 46% of Punjab Kings Share, he is an Indian Businessman and Managing director of Elephant Capital PLC.

Ness Wadia holds 23% Shares of Punjab Kings, he is a businessman and managing director of Bombay Burmah Trading Corporation. 

Preity Zinta an Indian Bollywood actress and entrepreneur holds 23% of Punjab Kings share.

Karen Paul, a businessman and chairman of Apeejay Surrendra Group holds 8% shares of the Punjab Kings. 

6) Rajasthan Royals

Image Source: Cricbuzz

Rajasthan Royals won the IPL once in 2008. The owners of Rajasthan Royals are:

Amisha Hathiramani a businesswoman – Tresco international ltd with 44.2% shares.

Manoj Badale with 32.4% shares is a businessman and chairman of British Asian Trust. 

Lachlan Murdoch holds an 11.7% share of Rajasthan Royals, he is an Australian businessman and Co-Chairman of News Corp. 

Ryan Tkalcevic holds 8.7% shares of Rajasthan Royals.  

Shane Warne with 3% shares, who is the Australian commentator and former captain of the International Cricket team of Australia.

7) Royal Challengers Bangalore

Image Source: Economic Times 

The Royal Challengers Bangalore or RCB was founded in 2008 by United Spirits and named after the company’s liquor brand Royal Challenge.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore owner is United Spirits Limited which is an Indian Alcoholic beverage company.

RCB is owned under the banner Royal Challengers Sports Private Limited. 

8) SunRisers Hyderabad

Image Source: Free Press Journal 

SunRisers Hyderabad won IPL once in 2016.

Sunrisers Hyderabad is owned by media baron Kalanithi Maran of the Sun TV Network and was founded in 2012.

Also Check Out:- IPL Best Spinners 2021