SRH vs KKR: Sunrisers won by 23 runs


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) won from Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 23 runs in SRH vs KKR match. This match was held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

SRH lost the toss and was sent to bat first. Sunrisers made an impressive total of 228-4 as Harry Brook smashed an unbeaten 100 off 55 balls. KKR was restricted to a score of 205-7 despite of their fighting efforts in the SRH vs KKR match.

While chasing the target, KKR got off to a poor start in the match. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (at 0) was caught by a delivery off Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the very first over. Venkatesh Iyer and Sunil Narine then fell to Marco Jansen off consecutively to leave Kolkata reeling at a score of 20-3.

Narayan Jagadeesan and Rana added 62 runs for the fourth wicket to support KKR. This partnership ended when Jagadeesan (36 runs off 21 balls) was caught at deep midwicket. This was while he was going for a slog sweep against Mayank Markande.

Andre Russell was also dismissed while trying to take on Markande. Rinku Singh then came to bat from where he had left off in the last match. The batter added 69 runs with his captain before Rana was dismissed by T Natarajan. The asking rate went out of control. Rinku tried to take the step but fell to the ball.

Harry Brook smashes the first IPL 2023 century

Brook became the first player in IPL 2023 to score a hundred as SRH posted a huge total for KKR. Opening the innings for SRH, the England batter smashed 12 fours and 3 sixes, living up to all his hype in the season.

Brook began in a threatening fashion, smashing Umesh Yadav for 3 fours in the first over itself. In his next over, he clubbed some consecutive sixes. Meanwhile, Russell sent back Mayank Agarwal and Rahul Tripathi within the powerplay.

Captain Aiden Markram (50 runs off 26 balls) joined Brook for a partnership. This duo supported with 72 runs for the third wicket in the match. Suyash Sharma could have had Harry in the tenth over of the match but failed to catch on to a return catch. This was because the Sunriser smashed one back at him. Markram went on to Suyash in his next over and knocked him for two sixes and a four.

This dynamic partnership ended when Markram fell to Varun Chakravarthy after smashing him for a four and a six. Brook tried and also carried on attacking the Kolkata based franchise’s bowlers. He also took on Lockie Ferguson in the 15th over of the SRH vs KKR match.



Abhishek Sharma also came with a 17-ball 32 run score. But Brook brought up a well-deserved hundred in the last over of the match, smashing Umesh for a single.

Harry Brook on trolls

Due to his hefty price tag and the expectations he had set up for everyone after his performance for the England National Cricket Team last year, it was obvious that he had to face some trolls on social media after his last few bad performances. He now aims to shut the trolls with his recent century against KKR.

Brook only managed to score a low score of 29 runs in his first 3 matches in IPL 2023 while he was batting in the middle order. He was surprisingly sent to open in the innings against Kolkata Knight Riders, and he repaid SRH’s trust by scoring the first century this IPL season.

He also discussed how he could quiet down the trolling and criticism that he was getting with a ton.

Brook told that he was putting pressure on himself as one goes one social media and people say rubbish things. He added there’s a lot of Indian fans out there who’ll praise me tonight. But they were trolling me a few days ago. I am glad I shut up trolls by my performance today.


SRH vs KKR: Who was given the Player of the Match title?

Brook played a blockbuster knock for SRH. With this he became the first centurion of IPL 2023, thus proving why he is so high rated.

Whereas Markram supported with a quickfire half-century. With bowling, Markande stood out with 2-27. For Kolkata Knight Riders, Rana and Rinku smashed half centuries. Brook, although, was an easy choice for the Player of the Match title.

Playing 11 of Sunrisers Hyderabad in SRH vs KKR:

Harry Brook, Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram (captain),  Heinrich Klaasen (wicketkeeper), Marco Jansen, Mayank Markande, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik and T Natarajan

Playing 11 of Kolkata Knight Riders in SRH vs KKR:

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Rinku Singh, N Jagadeesan, Nitish Rana (captain),  Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Suyash Sharma, Lockie Ferguson and Varun Chakaravarthy

Also read: